For more information, contact:
Carla Felix (402) 471-4223
Amanda Woita (402) 471-4243
Nathanael Urie (402) 471-4245

August 10, 2023

Nebraska students’ environmental artwork to be featured in 2024 “Nebraska: Don’t Waste It!” calendar

The artwork of 13 Nebraska students will be featured in the 2024 “Nebraska: Don’t Waste It!” environmental calendar. The statewide contest is sponsored by the Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy (NDEE) and focuses on the importance of waste reduction, recycling and litter cleanup.

The students whose submissions were selected for the 2024 calendar were invited to a ceremony at the State Capitol on Thursday, August 10, where they were honored by Governor Jim Pillen and NDEE Director Jim Macy. Each month, the calendar features one of the 12 winning environmental posters. A 13th winner’s artwork provides the cover for the calendar.

The entry featured on the cover was submitted by
Eleanore Walters, a ninth-grade student from Eustis-Farnam Public Schools in Eustis.

The other 12 winners who are featured in the calendar are:

Liam McColloch, a fifth-grade student from Garden County Schools, Oshkosh.

Lynae Shonka, a kindergarten student from Fisher’s-Schuyler Community Schools, Schuyler.

Jacki Koch, a fourth-grade student from Eustis-Farnam Public Schools, Eustis.

Kiersten Hans, a sixth-grade student from Wynot Public Schools, Wynot.

Gabriel Lobato, a first-grade student from Fisher’s–Schuyler Community Schools, Schuyler.

Daisy D’Agosto, a third-grade student from St. Patrick Catholic School, Elkhorn.

Kassi Knael, a seventh-grade student from Humboldt Table Rock Steinauer Public Schools, Humboldt.

Elizabeth McNeely, a seventh-grade student from Nebraska City Middle School, Nebraska City.

Ashtyn Quast, a seventh-grade student from High Plains Community Schools, Clarks.

Flora Dalton, a tenth-grade student from Aquinas Catholic Middle/High School, David City.

Chloe Shupp, an eighth-grade student from Humboldt Table Rock Steinauer Public Schools, Humboldt.

Nayeli Barraza, a twelfth-grade student from Gering High School, Gering.

“As in previous years, we received hundreds of entries from talented artists across the state, making it tough for our judges to choose only 13,” Macy said. “It is our hope that selections for the 2024 calendar convey the important message of protecting the environment in unique and varied ways.”

Nebraskans can receive a free copy of the calendar by emailing the NDEE public information office at or calling the office at 402-471-2186.

Gov. Jim Pillen and Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy Director Jim Macy honored 13 students whose artwork was chosen to be a part of the 2024 “Nebraska – Don’t Waste It!” calendar. Pictured are, from left: (front row) Gabriel Lobato, Lynae Shonka, Jacki Koch, and Daisy D’Agosto; and (back row) Nayeli Barraza; Elizabeth McNeely, Kassi Knael, Liam McColloch, Gov. Pillen, Ashtyn Quast, Eleanore Walters, and Director Macy. Not pictured are Kiersten Hans, Flora Dalton, and Chloe Shupp.