## CHAPTER 3: Environmental Quality Council

The Environmental Quality Council was established through the Nebraska Environmental Protection Act as the body that adopts rules and regulations which set air, water and land quality standards in order to protect the public health and welfare of the state. They adopt regulations that guide the activities and responsibilities of NDEE. In addition, the Governor appoints the NDEE Director based on candidates recommended by the Council.

The Council has 17 members who are appointed by the Governor to four-year terms. Appointments require legislative approval. Council members are appointed to represent the food manufacturing industry; conservation interests; the agricultural processing industry; the automobile or petroleum industry; the chemical industry; heavy industry; the power generating industry; crop production; labor; the livestock industry; county government; municipal government (two members, one of which represents cities not of the primary or metropolitan class); a professional engineer; a biologist; a representative of minority interests; and a doctor with knowledge about the human health aspects of air, water and land pollution.

The Council is required by statute to meet at least twice each year. NDEE publishes notice of these meetings, together with an agenda and a description of proposed business items to be considered. The Council holds public hearings on the proposed regulations at these meetings. Any interested person may submit written comments on the proposed regulations and/or testify at the public hearing. The Council considers these comments and testimony prior to making a decision on whether to adopt, modify, or deny new state environmental regulations and amendments to existing regulations. The Council can also consider rule-making petitions submitted by the public.

Although the Council is responsible for review and adoption of rules and regulations, it does not have involvement in NDEE's administrative functions or day-to-day responsibilities. The NDEE Director is responsible for administration of NDEE and the rules and regulations adopted by the Council.

Following are two tables. The first lists the council members and the second summarizes Council actions for FY19-20.

Representing	Council member	Term expires
Agricultural Crop Production	Rod Gangwish Shelton	June 22, 2021
Ag Processing Industry	Douglas Anderson Aurora	June 22, 2023
Automotive/Petroleum Industry	John Dilsaver Omaha	June 22, 2021
Biologist	Mark Czaplewski Grand Island	June 22, 2021
Chemical Industry	Seth Harder Plainview	June 22, 2023
City Government	Vacant	June 22, 2023
Conservation	Norris Marshall Kearney	June 22, 2023
County Government	Vacant	June 22, 2023
Food Products Manufacturing	Michelle Bucklin Omaha	June 22, 2021
Heavy Industry	Karl Barfuss Norfolk	June 22, 2023
Labor	Robert Hall Wahoo	June 22, 2021
Livestock Industry	Alden Zuhlke Plainview	June 22, 2021
Minority Populations	Mohamed Dahab Lincoln	June 22, 2021
Municipal Government	Lance Hedquist South Sioux City	June 22, 2021
Physician	Vacant	June 22, 2023
Power Generating Industry	Joseph Citta, Jr., Columbus	June 22, 2021
Professional Engineer	Dennis Grams Lincoln	June 22, 2023

## **Council Members**

Council Meeting Date	Regulation	Action
November 7, 2019	Public Hearing on 2020 Litter Percent Allocations	Approved
	Amendments to Nebraska Administrative Code (NAC) <i>Title</i> 195, <i>Chemigation Regulations</i>	Approved
	Repeal of Chapters in NAC <i>Title 135, Mineral Exploration Holes</i>	Approved
	Amendments to NAC <i>Title 200, Petroleum Release</i> Remedial Action Reimbursement Fund	Approved
	Amendments to NAC <i>Title 197, Certification of Wastewater Treatment Operators</i>	Approved
	Amendments to NAC <i>Title 198, Agricultural Chemical Containment</i>	Approved
	Amendments to NAC Title 129, Air Quality Regulations	Approved
June 25, 2020	2021 Intended Use Plan and Project Priority Lists for Clean Water State Revolving Fund and Drinking Water State Revolving Fund	Approved

## Environmental Quality Council Actions July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2020