2012/05 May Onsite Wastewater Unit Newsletter
This information is provided by the Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy to assist the public and regulated community.
Form #: WAT199 Newsletter
Revised: 5/1/12
SizeFile Name
79 KB 2012 May.pdf

Onsite Unit, Wastewater Section, Water Quality Division


Suite 400, The Atrium, 1200 N Street,
PO Box 98922
Lincoln NE 68509-8922
Phone (402) 471-4285 - Fax (402) 471-2909
Web Site:-
http://dee.ne.gov/
Report a Problem:
ndee.problem@nebraska.gov
Onsite Program email:
ndee.onsite@nebraska.gov

Proposed Changes to Title 124 Moving Forward

On March 15, 2012, the Environment and Energy Council (EQC) approved changes to Title 124 – Rules and Regulations for the Design, Operation and Maintenance of On-site Wastewater Systems. The approved amendments include: a new late renewal process with a $50 late renewal penalty and 60 day window to allow late renewal once a certificate has expired; and allowing qualified independent study programs for required continuing education. No changes were proposed to the existing fees for initial certification, certificate renewal, examination, system registration, or late system registration. The changes do not become effective until reviewed and approved by the Nebraska Attorney General and then the Governor. There is no set time frame for this part of the process. A notice will be sent after the changes become final.

One of the more significant changes to Title 124 approved by the EQC pertains to mound systems. Currently, mound design must be done by a Professional Engineer and submitted for Department review and approval under the permit requirements in Chapter 3 of Title 124. Proposed changes would provide for the design and installation of a mound system by a Master Installer with the Mound Endorsement without the need for a Department issued permit within certain size and site limitations. To obtain the Mound Endorsement a Master Installer will need to submit a completed application for endorsement with the $300 endorsement application fee and the examination application with the $50 exam application fee, and then pass the endorsement examination. The endorsement examination will be developed and administered by the Department. Only a certified Master Installer will be eligible for the mound endorsement under the proposed regulation.

Onsite Wastewater Program Webpage

The Onsite webpage provides a quick and easy way to access Onsite Program information on upcoming training, exam sessions, persons certified to work on onsite systems and registered onsite systems. Fact Sheets on permitting, system registration, professional certification, continuing education and subdivision review are also available for review and can also be downloaded and printed for future reference. To access the Onsite Program webpage:
  • Start at the DEE website http://dee.ne.gov/
  • On the left-hand side of the page click on the “Licenses & Certification” tab; and
  • Then click on “Onsite Wastewater Program (septic systems, private lagoons)”.

2012 Onsite Certification Exams

Onsite Certification Exams have been scheduled for the following dates/locations. Pre-registration is required – no walk-ins are allowed. To register for an exam, submit an application for certification by exam (Form D) with the certification fee, an application for examination (Form H) with the examination fee and the citizenship attestation form, if appropriate. All applications received less than five (5) days prior to a scheduled exam date may be held for the next scheduled exam.
Date/Location
June 14, 2012/Lincoln, NE
August 9, 2012/North Platte, NE
September 12, 2012/Norfolk, NE
October 18, 2012/Holdrege, NE
November 8, 2012/Lincoln, NE

Registration/Late Fees

The Department recently received an inquiry about whether the system registration fee must be submitted in addition to the late fee when a system is registered more than 45 days after completion of construction. For any registration either postmarked or received by the Department 46 to 90 days after completion of work, an initial late system registration fee of $150 must be added to the $140 system registration fee (150+140=$290). For any registration either postmarked or received by the Department 91 days or more after completion of work, a final late system registration fee of $450 must be added to the $140 system registration fee (450+140=$590).